< Go to all news articles

New President inaugurated at IoB AGM

3 March 2020

Jane Howard, CEO, Ulster Bank has assumed the role of IoB President following the organisation’s AGM on 2 March. She is the 101st President to be elected by Council. Jane replaces Clive Bellows of Northern Trust who steps down following his year in office.

Jane Howard and Clive Bellows iob President inauguration

In her inaugural address, Jane Howard highlighted the key areas of focus for her tenure saying “I’m really excited to be taking over the Presidency as we complete a fantastic new value proposition for our members both individual and corporate. My first priority is to oversee the continuing implementation of IoB’s strategic plan and business transformation programme.”

In the next 12 months, IoB plans to launch a highly innovative digitally enabled education and lifelong learning experience for members which, alongside its blockchain-based EdQ verification platform, will be delivered through a smartphone app and IoB’s website and member portal.

Jane continued: “The financial system plays a critical role in our economic model and can significantly influence sustainable development through the redirection of capital flow towards sustainable investment. Sustainable finance is high on IoB’s agenda and we are well advanced in developing a new qualification in responsible and sustainable finance. As President, I will strongly endorse IoB’s initiative and the launch of this new programme.”

Colin Hunt, CEO, AIB was elected Deputy President and Andrew Walsh, permanent tsb was elected Vice President. Niall Garvey was appointed to Council by Danske Bank and Paul Nixon, Bank of Ireland, was elected to Council by IoB voting members. Outgoing Council members Clive Bellows President, Rob Warnock Vice President, Olive White and Amelia Casey were thanked for their contribution to IoB. For more on IoB Council read here.