< Go to all news articles

Winners of IOB Future of Finance Awards announced

IOB announced the winners of the IOB Future of Finance Awards 2023 at a special ceremony in the Convention Centre Dublin on February 24th.

The IOB Future of Finance Awards recognise individuals who have led innovative projects or initiatives to advance progress with their financial services organisation.

In a ceremony that marked the start of celebrations for IOB’s 125th anniversary, six IOB Future of Finance Award winners were announced.

IOB Future of Finance Winners

IOB Future of Finance Award Winners

Pictured with Meliosa O'Caoimh, Northern Trust, Country Head, Ireland and Chair of the Judging Committee, the winners of the IOB Future of Finance Awards are:

Digital Transformation - Lyndsay Shields, Danske Bank

Lyndsay is Head of Data & Analytics with Danske Bank. Lyndsay established the first automation team in Danske Bank UK. This led to multiple automation initiatives across the bank and reduced lead time for services to customers greater efficiency for the organisation. Her work led to the account opening process being reduced from 6-8 weeks to within 24 hours. Lyndsay has delivered award winning digital initiatives for the bank and demonstrated strong leadership in the area of STEM.

Lyndsay Shields

Risk Management – Christine McGowan, AIB

Christine is Head of Business Change & Strategy with AIB. She has led the delivery of new education programmes in conjunction with universities and internal stakeholders – her focus on people development has boosted credit skills across her organisation. Christine led a committee and the development journey to review and update over 252 credit courses available within the bank, ultimately leading to over 1,700 staff participating in a new credit curriculum.

Christine McGowan

Compliance Champion – Niall Hanley, Permanent TSB

Niall is Territory Sales Manager (North & West Region) with Permanent TSB. He is highly engaged, both within his organisation and with the broader community. His hosting of free mortgage evening events in Clare has provided the community access to financial advice and enhanced the bank’s understanding of customer concerns. Niall has maintained a strong focus on professional development and education, continuously building his knowledge and expertise to support colleagues and customers.

Niall Hanley

ESG – Jack Lee, MUFG Investor Services Ireland

Jack is Head of Sustainability for MUFG Investor Services. Jack is a passionate advocate for his firm’s ESG offerings and leads their ESG strategy. His knowledge and expertise have helped his organisation to develop an ESG reporting framework and embed ESG into the DNA of the company. His participation in industry events, committees and working groups has helped to support the broader funds industry with the adoption of new ESG regulations.

Jack Lee

ESG - Positive Impact Award – Karen Coyle, AIB

Karen is Head of the Energy, Environment, Health and Safety tams for AIB group. Karen’s work for AIB on their Corporate Power Purchase Agreement with NTR will see the contribution of additional renewable energy to the Irish grid – the first agreement of its kind by a European bank or an Irish corporate. She is playing a key role in ensuring her organisation can meet its strategic target of Net Zero operations by 2030. Karen’s leadership has led to an initiative that will build 75 acres of solar farms, equivalent to the size of 24 Croke Parks, in County Wexford.

Karen Coyle

Culture Champion – Karen Hackett, Permanent TSB

Karen is Head of People Experience with Permanent TSB. Karen’s leadership of initiatives on culture activation planning, enhancing work life balance and the development of cultural enablers have led to enhanced culture within her organisation. She developed a Culture Index taking learnings from the CBI culture and behaviour standards review. Karen has demonstrated the link between customer experience and employee experience to enhance her organisation’s culture.

Karen Hackett

Recognising leaders in the sector

Congratulating the award winners, Mary O’Dea, IOB Chief Executive, said: “We’re proud to recognise the work of financial services professionals who are advancing progress in areas critical to the future of the sector. The IOB Future of Finance Award winners have shown dedication, commitment and professionalism in their work which has made a positive impact for their organisation, customers and our society.”

This year was the inaugural IOB Future of Finance Awards. Over 50 nominations were received across six different award categories. Commenting on the response, Mary O’Dea said “It was so inspiring to read through all the incredible stories of each nominee. Every person nominated should be so proud of this achievement. Being recognised by your colleagues and peers is really the mark of an outstanding leader.”